Skip to content

Is it true?

November 11, 2008

I used to teach an Introduction to Demography course in U.P. Los Banos; heads up to Meranz who was one of my former (and top) students in that course.  The course was mostly about serious matters ( e.g. population explosion, fertility, migration, and mortality).  However, we also discussed family planning and, its natural complement, the ‘s’ word (there are kids reading, he he).

It was Valentine’s Day when we discussed the correlation between intercourse frequency and the number of children (duh?!).  That was when another one of my top students (I’ll not mention his name here but he was Meranz’ classmate) asked me this,

Ma’am, is it true that more people have sex during Valentine’s day than any other day?

I was stumped, to tell you the truth.  I really didn’t know what to say. It was one of those brainfreeze moments; my brain turned into one tall Slurpee.  Stick in a straw and start sipping, why don’t you?  All the while, whatever conscious part of my mind remained was screaming:

I don’t know! I am not omniscient; I haven’t installed videocameras and recorders in people’s rooms.  We have not yet done a survey on that and probably because there wasn’t much point in doing so.  I haven’t yet turned into the proverbial fly in the wall no matter how often I have found myself wishing it were so.

I finally had to respond, and i said, “Probably?”

[will update this post with more “is it true” questions.  just had to blog; have been working continuously for 4 days now – with around 3-4 hours of sleep each day 😦 ]

Please make your presence felt by signing my Guestbook or leaving a comment.  Thanks!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 7:48 am

    Meranz,

    Miss you too!

    I’ve been to your wordpress blog, he he. I even voted that you should learn how to drive. And I messed up with the comment; please erase one of them. 😆

    Will be stalking that and your other blog from now on, he he he 🙂

  2. November 19, 2008 7:23 am

    how different is different? 🙂 you’d say that about me. hahah. or not.

    mishu! *hugs, hugs*

  3. November 19, 2008 7:17 am

    @febe,

    If i was in your class, i would have been amazed and astonished too. They (You) teach that in school?! Hands down! I am again lost for words. 😀

    Hehe, I can only imagine their reactions – pretending to be mortified. 😀 I’m sure it was a very interesting class because of your daring ’surprises’. Well done, Prof!

    Well, it was a demography class and family planning is always part of the discussion. Yeah, you can tell they were amazed, he he he, but pretty excited too to be doing and learning something rather taboo in a classroom environment, he he he.

    To tell you the truth, I was surprised with the model phallus that one of my students brought to class; it was great nonetheless, because it was so difficult trying to slip a condom on a water bottle 😆

  4. November 19, 2008 7:12 am

    @meranz,

    Sya nga; I’ve checked out his blog. I’ve seen his pics and he looks so different from when last I saw him. Oh well; he’ll probably say the same about me if he saw me now. Come to think of it, you’ll probably say that as well, he he he

  5. febe permalink
    November 17, 2008 12:49 pm

    Thanks. I hope so too. 🙂

    If i was in your class, i would have been amazed and astonished too. They (You) teach that in school?! Hands down! I am again lost for words. 😀

    Hehe, I can only imagine their reactions – pretending to be mortified. 😀 I’m sure it was a very interesting class because of your daring ‘surprises’. Well done, Prof! 🙂

  6. November 14, 2008 4:37 am

    aha! onga pala – we’re like one seat apart.

    hahah.

    you should see him now – soooo – well, “migration” (one of the 3 major demographic process: fertility, mortality and migration – you mentioned nuptiality but it didn’t merit a spot with the three. hahaha.) changed him. hahaha

    H is here -> everythingkimchi.blogspot.com

    🙂

  7. November 13, 2008 7:39 pm

    Thank goodness you’re back! I really missed your witty contributions 🙂 Hope you’re back for good.

    By the way, that class brought out the weirdest reactions in my students. As part of the course, I taught students about the proper way of putting on a condom. They were horrified and fascinated at the same time.

    I told them, “Heh! If I know…” They protested of course, he he he 😆 Perhaps our lessons also froze their brains and got them fixated on the subject of copulation (didn’t want to use the s word; it may be tagged as too adult for WP). 😆

  8. febe permalink
    November 13, 2008 12:25 pm

    Im back from hibernation.

    That question… Wow!! (I cant find words to rate how astonishing it is!)

  9. November 12, 2008 6:17 am

    M,

    Ha ha ha ha 🙂 Those were the days. I really had fun with your class. Pero yung tinutukoy ko ay si “H” and I think you’re still corresponding with each other up to now. 🙂

  10. ayokongjuice permalink
    November 12, 2008 4:21 am

    ma’am si XefX XXlXXz ba ito?

    hahaha. ang natatandaan ko ay ito: “everyone that you meet is a potful of stories” (hindi ba sh*t? lolz)… hahah

    – at ang walang kamatayang “expectation of sensibility” noong ating first day.

    best,
    m.

Leave a Reply

