Skip to content

Addition to My Happy Marbles

May 25, 2008

I promised I’ll update my happy marbles post whenever I recall other happy memories. Well, here’s another one:

COOKIES AND CREAM

My boardmate (boardmate = someone who lives in the same boarding house) Armand and I went to the Students’ Cooperative to get some ice cream. Armand went ahead to buy his while I browsed the new books on offer at the local Booksale outlet. Apparently, Armand ordered the Cookies and Cream ice cream variant. The lady selling the ice cream repeated his order, saying, “Ah, yung Kokes and Krem (Oh, the Kokes and Krem).”

Note: Please pronounce it exactly the way it is written.

Obviously, she said it incorrectly. Armand, however, did not want to offend her so he affirmed his order by saying, “Oo, yung Kokes and Krem po (Yes, the Kokes and Krem please).”

Unfortunately for Armand, I chose that exact moment to come into the ice cream parlor. I heard what he said and broke down laughing, gasping, “Ha ha ha ha, Kokes and Krem daw, o! Kokes and Krem” (Ha ha ha ha, Kokes and Krem! Kokes and Krem!) and continued to laugh loudly at Armand whom I thought mispronounced Cookies and Cream. Armand gave me one of his looks, obviously trying to shut me up. The lady vendor also looked at me sharply and commented to Armand, “Ang saya ng kasama mo, ‘no? (Your friend seems inordinately pleased with himself.)”

So much for Armand’s effort to be inoffensive,😆 😆

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 10:04 am

    Dude, you forgot Beepo’s Living Room Scandal…

  2. August 4, 2008 1:54 pm

    thanks,

  3. febe permalink
    May 28, 2008 10:16 am

    LOL. You killed me there.😀

Leave a Reply

