Skip to content

I *Heart* Mama

May 12, 2008

Sure, I am interested. Thank you for the tag Tew! Doesn’t matter if it’s too late now. I’m still going to “heart my mama.”

I have discovered a problem though. It seems that I don’t have digital pics of me and my mother together. I always seem to be holding the camera when pictures of mother are being taken. Old photos would have been great, but they’re at home in Oas and I don’t have time to scan pictures anyway. I just spliced our pictures. I hope it’s fine. And I had to reduce the size because of poor resolution.

My mother and I

There’s my mother. She’s getting on in years, as you can see. She is not my grandmother, though; she really is my mother. She had me 11 years after she got married and she married late, too. So there.

She is a retired elementary school teacher (my father is also a retired public school teacher). Maybe, I inherited her (and my father’s) love of teaching. She and my father are good providers. We did not live in the lap of luxury, but my sisters and I had what we needed. She and my father managed to put me and my two sisters through college with the very small salary they drew. My mother is very good at budgeting, apparently.

She’s also very good in small businesses that brought in some extra income. She sold pigs and small pigs (he he, i.e. piglets) when she was younger. She sold ice candy, made “sinapot” (saba bananas split lengthwise, dipped in a mixture of flour, water and sugar, then fried) and all kinds of food stuff which I and my sister Leah had to carry in a basket or “bilao” around the whole barangay to sell. And she’s a a good cook, definitely. She makes a mean lechon paksiw and paksiw na pata.

She’s weaker now, though. She has had three mild strokes already. She moves the left side of her body with great difficulty and she speaks rather slowly. However she is trying to become stronger. She assures me she’s taking her medication and she’s exercising regularly. I pray God grants her many more years.

To Mama: Please get better and stronger. I love you. Happy Mother’s Day!

Right now, I’m tagging: Jing and Lala.

You can also create your own “I Heart Mama” post.  It’s never too late to give your mother a tribute.

Please make your presence felt by signing my guestbook or leaving a comment.  Thanks!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    June 3, 2008 3:03 am

    Hi Mary Jane!

    Hey! What has been happening to you?🙂 I’m really glad to see you again.

    Jing of the Jinkydoodle blog is Jennifer. She’s a colleague at work and a great friend – almost like a sister, actually.🙂

    – Jinky

  2. maryjane permalink
    June 2, 2008 4:04 pm

    hi jinky!

    i visited jinkydoodle’s blog..i’m curious as to how you two are related..hehehe

  3. rose permalink
    May 15, 2008 10:08 am

    jinks.. I love this!! and i miss your stimulating stories, I started writing again and its because of you hehehe…

Leave a Reply

