Skip to content

Lesson Learned from Ugly Betty

May 7, 2008

I watched Ugly Betty and I learned something new. I have always despised people who prioritized being “fashionable” over being practical. I mean, I still have my clothes from high school – and I still wear them. I even wore them at the university where I taught. (You got it! I did not grow much – he he, if at all – and yes, I am the old jeans-and-shirt-and-leather-sandals type – i.e. really unfashionable).

There was this scene where Betty was crying over losing her Gucci bag ; she traded it for 15 refills of her father’s medication. She told her sister that she finally understood why she was given her mother’s favorite or “good” bag when she was 3. She said it was as Christina (from “the closet”) said: fashion is for the soul. It makes you feel good. And when she had on the Gucci bag, she felt like 3 years old again. She felt really beautiful for the first time in her life.

At last; I finally understand why people blow thousands of dollars on a Gucci bag. Of course, I will still not do it, even if I had the choice. 🙂 And especially not with a credit card.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2008 1:46 am

    Fashion is not more important than practicality. A person can’t wear those clothes who never suits.

  2. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    May 25, 2008 6:15 pm

    Hi Caryn,

    Those pancakes really look awesome. Thanks for dropping by!🙂

    – Jinky

  3. May 25, 2008 7:04 am

    i saw this episode! i was addicted to the series for a while. hehehe. i loved this episode because it helped define how betty thought through things…defined her background i mean😉

  4. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    May 8, 2008 5:35 am

    Oh, another Ugly Betty lesson: make sure the series is complete before you buy the set. It makes for much less frustration, UGH!!!!

Leave a Reply

