Skip to content

On the Most Cruel Line and Friendster Shoutouts

April 14, 2008

We were in one of our Magic Sing moments. No, there was no beer this time although we had pulutan aplenty – Sugo nuts (I love ’em, especially the red one) and “Isaw” (yummm! I miss the isaw near Ilang dorm – that isawan is now at the parking lot in front of the Law building).

The intro of a familiar song suddenly played. I am not good with lyrics so I just waited for the blinking countdown to reach 0. It did, and the most cruel line I’ve ever seen in a song flashed on the TV screen.

It must have been cold there in my shadow,
to never have sunlight on your face.

Ouch!!!! That’s one heck of a line to sing to anyone!!!

Yes, that is the first line to Bette Midler’s Wind Beneath My Wings” and yes, the song means well. Its’ actually a tribute to someone so kind, so self-effacing and so humble – i.e. someone whom you can imagine saying would you like to wipe your feet on me? wait, let me lie down first” and after a few seconds “please, go ahead. wipe your feet – that he’d rather have rickets than get out of the shadow to get some sun (he he, sorry for being so literal) .

Anyway, this line made me think of Friendster shoutouts that are meant to hurt someone – but not anyone in particular. They are the type of shoutouts that you post without anyone in mind, but still manage to hit someone – who retaliates by posting a mean shoutout of his own or a response to the shoutout that hit the mark. I know of at least two people who have posted an innuendo-filled shoutout for no one in particular and got a response within 24 hours.

This first line from Bette Middler’s song makes a very good shoutout of that kind. Just post it in your Friendster shoutout box then wait for the reaction to start. Unless you’ve been an absolute saint (i.e. you have led an absolutely boring life), someone, somewhere is going to react.

Please make your presence felt by signing my guestbook or leaving a comment. Thanks!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 6:06 pm

    Aist.

  2. Alyssa permalink
    February 6, 2009 6:41 pm

    These are nice shoutouts. You’re also a good writer. =)

    Anyway, feel free to visit my blog. http://www.alyssamariebautista.blog.friendster.com

    Thanks.

    • February 7, 2009 12:05 am

      @ Alyssa

      Thank you for saying that, ha ha ha. I’ve been to your blog and I see that Congratulations are in order. 🙂

      – Jinky

  3. November 19, 2008 7:34 am

    Meranz,

    House and lot, di kasama? 😆

    Ang galing ah!!! Feature-packed kumbaga, and it doesn’t cost as much as Magic Sing. Buti ka pa, nakahanap ng ganyang deal, he he he.

  4. November 14, 2008 4:31 am

    … may score din. nyahahah!

  5. November 14, 2008 4:30 am

    mahal pa ang magic sing last year so my sister and i decided to buy a promac portable karaoke.

    at Php 6000, we got 10,000+ songs (they were in a dvd), and an mp3/dvd/cd/vcd/washingmachine/jpg player plus mic. may case pa!

    hahah. nagpaparamya lang. wahahah.

    mwah!

  6. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    May 31, 2008 5:55 am

    Hi Febe,

    I’m glad to hear you’re always about, he he, and thanks for your permission. I’m starting to collect “friendster shoutout stories” now and hopefully, I’ll get the post up very soon.

    I’m glad you like my page. Don’t you plan on starting your own blog? I’m sure it will be interesting. You have a way with words – and more importantly – a great sense of humor. 🙂

    – Jinky

  7. febe permalink
    May 29, 2008 10:43 am

    Hi Jinky, I often drop by (since the Janina San Miguel post which was the first time i came across your blog) although i don’t always leave a note. 🙂

    Sure, blog/post/add away. Let’s include their names too! (hahaha! just kidding) 😀

    I find your blog fascinating, you appreciate my humor; sounds like a fair deal, hehe. Yep, see you! (that’s for sure) 🙂

  8. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    May 28, 2008 5:12 pm

    Hi Febe,

    Thanks for the info, and boy am I glad to see you again. 🙂

    By the way, I’d like to add your repartee to the quotable quotes section and maybe include your comment to a follow up story about friendster shoutouts (like stories about friendster shoutouts that actually got a response, you know). Naturally, you’ll be acknowledged as the source of the quote and the story (if I manage to start one, that is).

    Let me know if you’re okay with that. Oh, and before I forget, I’d like to include your NBK-NBT epitaph to the epitaph post as well. 🙂

    You sure have my kind of humor – so don’t change, he he 🙂 See you around soon!

    – Jinky

  9. febe permalink
    May 28, 2008 11:09 am

    around 4-5K, depending on the sort of ‘song compilation’.

    I know exactly what you mean with the FS shoutouts, hehe. At one time, this person i totally dislike posted “Revenge is a dish best served cold” to which i replied; “So, bite me! Dish too expensive, you cant afford it.” Im quite sure he deleted his shoutout because he got to read mine. I was secretly laughing about it for days. Hahaha! (hmm… happy marble…) 😀

  10. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    April 15, 2008 6:59 pm

    my magic sing,

    He he, glad to oblige. 🙂 We’re also thinking of buying a new chip. How much is it, do you (or anyone else for that matter) know?

    – Jinky

  11. April 15, 2008 8:34 am

    I still remember that song… I was actually in my sophomore year back then.

    My friends and I also love to sing. Occasionally, we go to karaoke bars but most of the time we stay at home and sing with our magic sing as well. I don’t think I have that Bette Midler song in my current chip.. need to by a new one I guess! Thanks for the reminder by the way. =)

Leave a Reply

