Skip to content

Disgusting Public Display of Affection

February 14, 2008

Imagine her hands reaching, swiping, caressing, digging, going away… then doing the same things again and again. Imagine his hands reaching, patting, caressing, squeezing, going away… then doing the same things again and again.

Their hands were perfectly innocent. I can’t say the same thing about your mind, though. Oh my, it stinks!

They were doing nothing more than displaying their affection for each other. She would reach out and touch her beloved’s face, pull him closer to her then whisper sweet nothings. Then she would giggle and he would join her. He, on the other hand, would put his hands on her shoulders or hug her tight against his side, then whisper his own version of sweet nothings. They would giggle together.

Unfortunately, after a while, their public display of affection became sickening to watch. I can tell from the expressions on the faces of people who were in the same line as I (and the people who were merely passing by) that the couple’s excessive display of affection was a great source of amusement and entertainment. No wonder; the couple put on a wonderful show – it was more diverting than the harried people and endless lines.

But other people were not standing directly behind this controversial couple – I was. I was in the line a total of 30 minutes – 45 at most. And in that time, they were constantly touching each other. It was as if they felt lost when they are not touching.

I could have tolerated one hour of that constant touching scene. I don’t like being a captive audience to such continuous (this is what I actually find objectionable), mushy displays of affection… but I can tolerate that. What I couldn’t tolerate and found immensely disturbing was their intensifying touchy-feely moments.

No, their hands did not wander into what you’d call forbidden territories. But she began cleaning his nose for him!!! That’s the digging part up there – and she tried doing it again and again and again!

I tell you… if I weren’t afraid of losing my place in that line, I’d have excused myself, found a convenient sink and puked. It was that disgusting.

p.s.

No, this is not jealous ire… My boyfriend and I have been together 8 years but we do not clean each other’s nose – in private or otherwise.

(Repost from my Yahoo 360 blog)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 6:29 pm

    hi ,
    ya,maybe it is really disgusting for the others who is just watching.but,for those who are involved w/this ,they don’t give a heck in what other people could say.it’s just because they are in love w/each other.when they are on each others arm ,time stopped abruptly.no other people around and it’s just the two of them….maybe it’s just like that

    • February 2, 2011 3:22 am

      Hi Vanessa,

      You’re actually right, he he. I wrote this post after a very tiring day lining up for registrations – after which, we were told it was already 4:30 and we will have to go back on Monday. That’s the reason for the negativity. ^^

  2. sarah permalink
    October 4, 2010 10:14 pm

    i really lyk ur blog.. so much.. it very meaningful, cn u give me a peice of advice? my friend is soo PDA wd her bf and were classmate also her bf is my classmate to how can i tell my friend in a good way tht they doing a bad thing.

    • February 2, 2011 3:24 am

      In truth, it’s not bad to show your affection to someone. One just has to be mindful of other people’s sensitivities – after all, it’s a public place so what one does has an impact on other people occupying the same space. If you really mind, just turn it into a joke. Like, “hinay hinay lang…” or something like that.

  3. niña permalink
    June 12, 2010 11:43 am

    nice one !

  4. crystal charles permalink
    September 29, 2009 7:17 am

    i really enjoyed your blog its was interesting i am currently doing a essay on why many people seem to be more disgusted by public displays of affection than by public displays of agression. i find it interesting .

    • October 5, 2009 12:56 am

      Hi Crystal,

      Thanks for visiting!

      I don’t know whether I would find public displays of aggression more or less disgusting than public displays of affection, but I really detest excessive displays of affection. Note that I don’t find all public displays of affection revolting; the feeling of revulsion only rises up when I encounter excessive displays. In fact, I feel glad when I see people in love holding hands, someone hugging another person close and someone touching another person’s face (affectionate gestures, all of them); I even find public smacks (the kiss, not the slap) cute and endearing. However, I typically perceive repetitive and prolonged affectionate gestures like that as excessive (just like I recounted in this story).

      Once more, thanks for dropping by!

      Regards,

      Jinky

  5. Colin Skillings permalink
    September 1, 2008 11:21 am

    PDA (PUBLIC DISPLAY OF AFFECTION)
    (I wrote this speech for a class)

    Good morning, my fellow classmates of Lone Peak High School. It is indeed a beautiful morning, and I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedules to listen to me today, and I am honored that I had the chance to talk to you. For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Colin Skillings, I’m seventeen years old, I get good grades, I’m really cool, you should just trust me on what I’m going to tell you, etcetera.
    Today I am speaking to you on a subject that I feel very strongly about, and I hope that after I’m done you might see my points and come to the realization that I’m right. First I must apologize for getting emotional, for I tend to get emotional when I feel so strongly about a topic. Just kidding not really, but I am pretty darn serious about my subject.
    So here’s a scenario, tell me if this has ever happened to you, you wake up, it’s a beautiful morning, and you managed to go to bed at an early time the previous evening and you woke up feeling great! You drive to school and right when you pull in to the parking lot, and there it is, the golden front parking space, could this day get any better? You then happily pull in and get out of your car to go to school, and of course you are pumped to attend your B2 class, so you approach the doors to our “World Class High School” and push open the doors to find all of your joy completely sucked out of you, all of your happiness was put in a blender, run over by a car and buried in a cold grave. You opened the doors to find such a repulsive display of love, the horrid brushing of the noses back and forth. The tickling of the waist, the giggling, the staring, the humiliating, and then there it is! The shame-bringing finale! The witnessing of the oh so not romantic smack of the lips that brings your honey nut cheerios back to your mouth. I stared in horror as I witnessed two sophomores, struggling so hard to make this “kiss” one of their best. I pointed at them in horror and continued to point at them until I rounded the corner. Throughout the rest of the day I could not concentrate, flashes of what I just saw kept popping in and out of my head! I could hear the girl
    giggling during math, the picture of their swap of saliva during history, and I wont even comment on what I imagined when we learned about childbirth in EMS class. My day was ruined, my mind poisoned.
    I hope you have all realized that I came here today to speak to you on the subject of the Public Display of Affection, or as many of us know it as, PDA. According to Wikipedia the definition of PDA is, the physical demonstration of affection for another person while in the view of others. Or in laymans terms, bleh! I think you get my point. PDA is just plain gross, and embarrassing. And unfortunately our own school, Lone Peak High, we are suffering from this sad embarrassing subject. Way to go guys, so much for World Class.
    At least twice a day I see some form of horrid PDA. Whether it is the classic super serious hug before class (you can really tell when they get into it when they close their eyes and bury their faces in each other’s necks, and hug for a good meaningful twenty seconds (SO CUTE!)), or whether it’s the kiss before class, then they part dramatically like one of them is going off to war. Its okay lovers, you won’t see each other for an hour and a half, take it easy. But wait! Sometimes it doesn’t end there, the best is when they are holding hands and they slowly let go trying to get every last second in of their hands touching, until their fingertips part, but when they really like each other, one of the lovers re-grabs the hand of the other and pulls them back in for a sexy hot kiss. Yeah baby! Who cares if they are tardy? They are in love! Well guess who cares? ME!
    And I know what all you guys are thinking right now. Colin is just a sore loser and he never has had a girlfriend, and he never has kissed before. He’s just being a jerk because he is jealous! Well you guys are wrong, I have “smoochied” a girl before okay? So back off. And I’ll admit, smoochin a girl is very neat. But guess what, I didn’t do it in front of everyone! What kind of examples are these PDA-“ists” showing our younger generation? Oh man! If I saw some guy lockin lips with my little sister during school, oh sweet molasses, I’d be in prison for assault in a jiffy! These people are ruining the days of thousands of students. We must act now! Luckily I have thought of a few solutions my self to help solve this problem.
    Welcome to Colin Skillings Steps to Rid PDA from the face of the earth. Basically what it all comes down to is make them feel stupid, and awkward. One of the first steps I have tried and tested is, to compliment and cheer them on! Tell them they are the cutest things you have ever seen! Clap, cheer, and whistle! Act like its Christmas morning! Although they will give you dirty looks, it is quite satisfying to see their faces turn bright cherry red as they run off around the corner. A second step would be to get angry at them. Yell phrases like “Save it for your Spouse!”, or “Its great you found love, but do the lovin’ somewhere else!”, or just pull out the brilliant classic “ Get a room!”. These are all quite effective. And don’t even feel guilty for saying these things. You are doing a deed to the school, you are doing a favor for them even! You are saving them from shaming their family names! You’re a hero! Pat yourself on the back.
    And a last and final step that is only to be used in drastic situations, is to try and join them. But please use this with caution. I have had a bad experience myself. You may recall a group of people who liked to “Group Spoon” with each other. Well I decided to join them and I cuddled right up next to a handsome fellow with his lady. Well his lady grabbed my leg and said the words “Alex. Scoot in and get closer.” I was horrified, they accused me as one of their own. I ran for my life. But don’t worry that will hardly ever happen. Try a different approach. When they are kissing, just try to nuzzle your face right in between them. I’m guessing they won’t like the extra company. But sometimes you have to sacrifice to make the world better. And I say to you again, use this third step with much caution, be prepared to get some hurtful words thrown your way, and always be sure to pay attention to see if the boyfriend is twice your size and could throw you across the school. I don’t want anyone getting hurt. That wouldn’t be good. So use these steps, be sure to remember them and keep them close to your heart, for they will come quite handy in time of need. They are our only weapon against the enemy.
    But now I must conclude my speech. I must ask you again to please recognize that this is a serious problem in our school. I cannot battle this beast on my own. I need your help. As one we can conquer PDA. I also must say that for those in this class who have performed their own PDA, please, please, please! Stop it now! Keep clean the minds of our younger generation. Save us from the horror, smooch your partner in private, save Lone Peak High School from pure humiliation. Lets stay World Class okay? Thank you for listening to me, talk to me after class if you want to ask me questions. Thank you.

  6. Jinky Bagagñan permalink
    March 24, 2008 10:38 pm

    Hi Mary Jane,

    I’m glad to hear from you. Kala ko nilamon ka na ng telepono, he he.

    The couple’s excessive display of affection is amusing, now that you mention it. At that time, it was far from amusing, I tell you. In fact, it was downright irritating. Sobra talaga. And I really had no choice but to watch. Grabe. Poor me… :( Thanks for the sympathy ha ha ha.

    Normal naman akong tao. I also hold hands with my boyfriend. He also “makes akbay” (sorry, the taglish is more expressive, ;) ) when we are walking at the mall, etc. (On another note, I have always suspected that my boyfriend does this to support his weight. He is so much taller than I am so he finds me a comfortable “human cane.” I confronted him with my suspicions, too, and he actually admitted it. Drat him, he he he.) But we really don’t do all the touchy-feely stuff. And I repeat, I have NEVER cleaned his nose for him (the lady doth protest too much, he he).

    Feeling ko nga medyo bago pa sila. Ang babata pa nilang tingnan eh, but of course, I’m not exactly young so perhaps they just seemed young to me. As for the room, he he, well… ;)

    But you’re right. At least, they gave me material to write about in my blog. :)

    By the way, I’m glad I made you and your officemates laugh. ( plak, plak, plak, ang sabi ng aking tenga, he he ) 8)

  7. mary_jane permalink
    March 24, 2008 9:46 am

    Hi Jinky!

    I just can’t help but post a comment again on this one. I shared this with my officemates after I read it. We had a really good laugh! ^_^

    I can’t help but feel a little sorry for you kasi wala ka talagang choice kundi harapin ang mga lokong to. Siguro ‘bago’ pa lang sila or they just can’t afford to ‘get a room’..hehehe
    And sobra-sobra siguro yung pagmamahal nung girl sa guy para sya pa ang mag-dig ng kung ano diyan sa ilong ng guy ano?!hahaha

    At least after that ordeal you had another topic na naman to share with us. Its amazing how people are sometimes. Its hard to know if they just don’t know how to act in public places or talagang ‘kapal-muks’ (kapal ng mukha) lang sila.

    Thank you for making us laugh Jinky! ^_^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

