Skip to content

A Classic Case of Burn Out – Entry dated February 08, 2007

February 14, 2008

Well, here I am. I am so burned out. Everyday, I stare at my computer and start thinking that I cannot do this anymore. Writing is my job and it sure is one heck of a way to make a living. Sometimes though, the pressure just gets to me and I burn myself out trying to finish my deadlines for three or four clients at one and the same time.

It used to be that my main problem was getting the biggest piece of candy. (Cut me some slack, will you? What else would a five-year old think about?) Elementary school, I was trying to get the best grades possible to get to a good high school. High school, I was trying to get grades that were good enough to get me accepted to a good university. College, I fought tooth and nail (well, maybe I’m exaggerating a li’l bit… leave it at the tooth ) to get good grades so I can get the best possible job. Now, I am fighting with time to finish my masteral while I write for some income.

Ah, writing is a good job. I’d rather be doing this than sit in a sterile office waiting for the clock to say it’s time at last to finish up and go home. Of course, I’d choose teaching over writing anytime. Well, maybe I can do both, who knows? My year as a college instructor was one of the best years of my short life.

Oh well, writing is still a wonderful occupation. It is wonderful because I have learned so much from the topics that I had to write about. Nonetheless, it does get to the point where all I can do is stare at a blank screen and think that the blinking cursor is mocking me, challenging me, daring me to commit one sensible thought to paper (well, screen actually).

I am not complaining. I love my job. It’s just that, it gets so hard to keep up sometimes. My brain feels like it has a leak that needs to be plugged up or else…

(Repost from my Yahoo 360 blog)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

